Mykonos, Delos and Rhenea and the islets Tragonisi and Octopus, belong to the Cyclades prefecture located in the central Aegean. The island has 9.320 inhabitants (census 2001). The total length of the island is 89 km2 and the total area of 105.481 acres.

The two largest bays on the island are the ones of Ornos and Panormos, where the last two wetlands are located. The islands Rhenea and Delos have been characterized as archaeological, that is why it is prohibited to visit them after sundown. Due to the limited flora and especially fauna, Rhenea and rocky islets have been classified as S.P.A. (Special Protection Areas).

Like most of the Cycladic islands, Mykonos lacks rain and the dryness is intense, therefore characteristic vegetation of the island is the shrub land and marquis. The island features rare and endangered species of both flora and fauna. The two wetlands in the bay of Panormos inhabit many birds and migratory birds threatened with extinction.

The bedrock that dominates the windy island is granite. The beaches are the result of erosion and strong winds. The topography is responsible for the limited aquifer and therefore it was necessary to construct the dams of Ano Mera and Marathias.

• Ano Mera Dam: it is situated on the river Maou Lagada, northeast of the island and about 10 km from Chora Town. The dam was constructed in order to collect the surface drainage and to solve the problem of water supply and irrigation.

• Marathias Dam: Located on the river Marathia and on the other side of the Ano Mera barrier, northwest of the island. This barrier is designed to address the shortage of water supply and irrigation.
The highest peaks of the island of Mykonos are north of the Chora Town, the peak Vardies, Prophet Elija and Prophet Elija (Ano Mera).

Finally Mykonos is one of the Greek areas with the less seismic activity.



Scroll to top