The Pelican of Mykonos   

The Pelican is the "mascot" of the island and is walking undisturbed in streets, squares and harbors. The first Pelican came to Mykonos in 1958 where he was a fisherman found him almost dead. He took good care of him and named him Peter. Unfortunately, Peter the Pelican died in 1986.

After this loss the locals brought to the island his successor, whom they also named Peter. The Pelican of Mykonos, is one of the most photographed sights of the island and is depicted in many postcards. Nowadays, three pelicans inhabit the island, two male and one female, who roam everywhere in Chora town, getting photographed and pulling all the looks.



Photos




Scroll to top